Banner

Academic Affairs

Our goal is to ensure the best possible learning experience for our students at CMC with the highest standards in teaching, learning and service. Whether your goal is for college transfer, occupational preparation, or courses for lifelong learning – Academic Affairs is here to help make it happen for you. Our comprehensive curriculum and innovative curricula will help prepare you to achieve your educational, employment, and lifelong learning goals.

The Office of Academic Affairs sets educational and instructional goals, policies and practices. Other responsibilities of this office include program, schedule and catalog development, community education, as well as overseeing the copy center. The Vice President of Academic Affairs is the primary contact for the State Chancellor’s Office on matters concerning Copper Mountain College’s instructional issues.

The Dean of Arts & Sciences works under the direction of the Vice President for Academic Affairs. The Dean of Arts & Sciences serves as a member of the management staff to develop District policies and procedures related to educational programs and services; oversees the implementation of policies, procedures, faculty and staff selection and evaluation; provides leadership in the improvement of teaching and learning; encourages faculty and staff development, and the successful participation in shared governance and a collaborative decision process.

Contact Us

Academic Affairs

Dr. Michael S. Reese
Vice President of Academic Affairs
760-366-5277
mreese@cmccd.edu 

Dr. Linda Thomas
Dean of Arts & Sciences 
760-366-5246
lthomas@cmccd.edu 

Lisa Hinton
Executive Assistant to the Vice President of Academic Affairs
760-366-3791 Ext. 5404
lhinton@cmccd.edu

Micah Escamilla
Educational Support Specialist
760-366-3791 ext. 5411
mescamilla@cmccd.edu

Deanna Johnson
Administrative Assistant to the Dean of Arts & Sciences 
760-366-3791 Ext. 5402
djohnson@cmccd.edu

Lisa Larson
Academic Catalog and Online Support Specialist
760-366-3791 Ext. 5401
llarson@cmccd.edu
Distance Education
Online Help line:  760-366-3791 Ext. 5911
Online Help email:  onlinehelp@cmccd.edu

Shannon Frechette
Curriculum Program Assistant 
760-366-3791 ext 5405
sfrechette@cmccd.edu 

Vacant
Office Services Specialist/Copy Center
760-366-3791 Ext. 5403
copycenter@cmccd.edu

Office Location

The Vice President of Academic Affairs is located in the 100 Quad (Phase I) of the Joshua Tree campus.

The Dean of Arts and Sciences is located in the 200 Quad (Phase II) of the Joshua Tree campus.

Regular Hours of Operation:
Monday through Friday, 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM.

We are closed on all legal and college holidays.