Banner

Academic Affairs

Our goal is to ensure the best possible learning experience for our students at CMC with the highest standards in teaching, learning and service. Whether your goal is for college transfer, occupational preparation, or courses for lifelong learning – Academic Affairs is here to help make it happen for you. Our comprehensive curriculum and innovative curricula will help prepare you to achieve your educational, employment, and lifelong learning goals.

The Office of Academic Affairs sets educational and instructional goals, policies and practices. Other responsibilities of this office include program, schedule and catalog development, community education, as well as overseeing the copy center. The Vice President of Academic Affairs is the primary contact for the State Chancellor’s Office on matters concerning Copper Mountain College’s instructional issues.

The Dean of Arts & Sciences works under the direction of the Vice President for Academic Affairs. The Dean of Arts & Sciences serves as a member of the management staff to develop District policies and procedures related to educational programs and services; oversees the implementation of policies, procedures, faculty and staff selection and evaluation; provides leadership in the improvement of teaching and learning; encourages faculty and staff development, and the successful participation in shared governance and a collaborative decision process.

Contact Us

Academic Affairs

Melynie Schiel
Vice President of Academic Affairs
760-366-5277
mschiel@cmccd.edu 

Dr. Linda Thomas
Dean of Arts & Sciences 
760-366-5246
lthomas@cmccd.edu 

Matthew Barboza
Associate Dean of CTE
760-366-3791 Ext. 5247
mbarboza@cmccd.edu

Ariana Muniz
Executive Assistant to Academic Affairs
760-366-3791 Ext. 5404
amuniz@cmccd.edu

Sandra Segura
Educational Support Specialist
760-366-3791 ext. 5411
ssegura@cmccd.edu

Jennifer Lee
Administrative Assistant I
760-366-3791 Ext. 5402
jenniferlee@cmccd.edu

Brian Scott 
Online Support
760-366-3791 Ext. 5999
bscott@cmccd.edu
Distance Education
Online Help line:  760-366-3791 Ext. 5911
Online Help email:  onlinehelp@cmccd.edu

Shannon Frechette
Curriculum Program Assistant 
760-366-3791 ext 5405
sfrechette@cmccd.edu