Academic Senate

    The role of the Academic Senate at CMC is rooted in the following legislation:

    Education Code §70902 (B)(7)

    The Governing Board shall … ensure … the right of academic senates to assume primary responsibility for making recommendation in the areas of curriculum and academic standards.

    Title 5 §53200 (B)

    Academic Senate means an organization whose primary function is to make recommendations with respect to academic and professional matters.

    Academic & Professional Matters delineated in Title 5 are:
    1. Curriculum, including establishing prerequisites. Rely Primarily
    2. Degree and certificate requirements. Rely Primarily

    3. Grading policies. Rely Primarily

    4. Educational program development. Mutual Agreement. Those areas of curriculum concerning Program Development will rely primarily upon the faculty as defined in the first three items of "Academic an Professional" matter (Title 5, 53203).

    5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success. Mutual Agreement

    6. College governance structures, as related to faculty roles. Mutual Agreement

    7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes. Mutual Agreement

    8. Policies for faculty professional development activities. Mutual Agreement

    9. Processes for program review. Mutual Agreement

    10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development. Mutual Agreement

    11. Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon. To be determined

    Senate Meetings

    Every 1st and 3rd Thursday of the Month in Room 119

    2015-16 Academic Senate Officers

    Dean Pieper, President

    Brad Berger, Vice President

    Jeff Haig, Secretary

    Melynie Schiel, Plenary Delegate

    Rob Wanless, Part-time Faculty Representative

    Senate Committees

    Cultural Education and Enhancement Committee (CEEC)

    Chair: Cathy Allen

    Meeting schedule:  TBD

    Curriculum and CTRAC

    Chair: Yadira Llort

    Meeting schedule:  Every 4th Friday  from 8:30 am to noon in Room 119

    Educational Technology

    Chair: Zachary Ginder

    Meeting schedule:  TBD


    Chair: Carolyn Hopkins 

    Meeting schedule: Once monthly Tuesday from 3:00 to 4:00 pm

    Professional Standards and Ethics (PSE)

    Chair: Gregg Chesterman

    Meeting schedule:  TBD

    Academic Senate Constitution

    Click here to view the Constitution.

    Part-Time Faculty Representative Job Description

    Click here to view the Job Description